Installation of precice v2 and its openfoam-adapter

Hi all,
I wanted to switch my precice installation from v1 to v2 so I uninstalled everything (libprecice + openfoam-adapter) and now I am having trouble with installing openfoam-adapter.
I was able to pass the tests after installing precice v2 (via sources or debian package) but I think the installation did not go well because if I run binprecice, the output is:

binprecice: error while loading shared libraries: libprecice.so.2: cannot open shared object file: No such file or directory

It looks to me that there might be a confusion between /usr/local and /usr but I am not an expert in this. If somebody can review the installation process with me, it would be great !

Let us say I download this package.

1. How can I make sure there won’t be any conflict with any previous installation of precice v1 or v2 that I tried to install/uninstall ?

2. if everything’s fine, should I just use

dpkg -i ./libprecice2_2.0.1_bionic.deb
    or
    apt install ./libprecice2_2.0.1_bionic.deb
    ? And do I need to look at something specific before moving to openfoam-adapter ?

Many thanks for your support

After more consideration, I think my installation of libprecice is valid.
However, when I run ./Allwmake for openfoam-adapter, I get the following log:

Building the OpenFOAM adapter for preCICE…

Current OpenFOAM environment:
WM_PROJECT = OpenFOAM
WM_PROJECT_VERSION = 6

The adapter will be built into:
ADAPTER_TARGET_DIR = /home/tdg/OpenFOAM/tdg-6/platforms/linux64GccDPInt64Opt/lib

The following building options will be used:
ADAPTER_PREP_FLAGS = -DADAPTER_DEBUG_MODE
ADAPTER_WMAKE_OPTIONS = -j 20

Dependencies (preCICE) will be located using the following environment variables:
ADAPTER_PRECICE_ROOT =
preCICE dependencies: not specified (ok if preCICE is built as a shared library)
ADAPTER_PKG_CONFIG_CFLAGS = -I/usr/local/include
ADAPTER_PKG_CONFIG_LIBS = -L/usr/local/lib -lprecice
ADAPTER_GLOBAL_CPLUS_INC_PATHS =