deal.II-preCICIE adapter [cMake can not find a configuration file for package "precice"]

Dear ALL,
Happy new year,

I am new at dealing with deal.II, precice and in general with linux, thus I apologize in advance if my question is very basic but I cannnot install the deal.II-preCICE adapter.

I followed the directions provided here: Get the deal.II adapter | preCICE - The Coupling Library, in the section “Build the adapter”
I used the following command:

git clone GitHub - precice/dealii-adapter: A coupled structural solver written with the C++ finite element library deal.II && cd dealii-adapter

Next, I used
cmake -DDEAL_II_DIR=~/dealii -DpreCICE_DIR=/usr/bin .

I am currently using preCICE-3.2.0 but the error I get is this:

Could not find a configuration file for package “precice” that is
compatible with requested version “2.0”.

The following configuration files were considered but not accepted:

~/software/precice-2.3.0/cmake/preciceConfig.cmake, version: unknown

CMake Error at CMakeLists.txt:58 (MESSAGE):

*** Could not locate a (sufficiently recent) version of preCICE. ***

I do not know how to test if I have the right location of preCICE, perhaps that is causing the problem.
Any help is greatly appreciated.

Best
Rob

Notes for you new topic:

• Please use tags that match your topic (e.g. openfoam, calculix, cht).
  • Please use a clear, descriptive title.
  • Please put any output or code fragments in a code fragment, like this:
    ---[precice] This is some screen output
    ---[precice] with multiple lines

(three “`” in the beginning, three “`” in the end) or upload the respective log files.
  • Don’t forget to describe your system and the respective preCICE/solver/dependency versions.

Thank you for being part of the preCICE community! :hugs:

Hi and welcome @Rob_T,

that’s interesting. How did you install preCICE on your system?

Usually, there are two common scenarios: