Fluid-solid CHT coupling

Hi,
I’m trying to simulate CHT using OpenFOAM for both solid and fluid. I started from the tutorials and modified the geometry to my needs. I have a couple of questions as, unfortunately, I have no experience with CHT.

• In the tutorials, I have seen flow-over-heated-plate-steady-state coupling OF and CodeAster. It is possible to do a steady state simulation with OF for both fluid and solid?
  • the configuration in the precice-config.xml of the tutorial uses the Aitken acceleration. I am noticing that the convergence is quite slow. In this case, using IQN-ILS or similar would improve convergence?

Thank you

Claudio

Hi @Claudio,

OpenFOAM steady-state solvers work technically in a similar way as the transient ones: every iteration is like a time step. So, they call the adapter in every iteration. In that tutorial, we use the buoyantSimpleFoam. I guess the question boils down to whether laplacianFoam will work. I think it should work.

I think this should also work: preCICE does not know if you are trying to solve a transient or a steady-state problem. @arvedes had very similar questions recently, I think his experience will also be useful here.

Hi Claudio,

I coupled OpenFOAM (gas flow) and FEniCSx (solid heat conduction) to investigate the natural convective cooling in our crystal growth setup. I recently presented the case at the ECCOMAS congress, you can find the slides here. In my flow-over-heated-plate test case serial explicit coupling worked well, it is easiest to configure. In my more complex crystal growth case this did not converge; IQN-ILS coupling was the best there (see slide 12).

I just learned from Benjamin Uekermann that there is a stability theory for CHT out there, maybe this is helpful for you, too.

2 Likes

Hi @Makis and @arvedes