Volume fluid-fluid and CHT coupling with OpenFOAM and Nutils

Hello!

I am new to preCICE and have a few questions.

I will first sketch the situation for more clarity. I am using OpenFOAM to solve the velocity field in a turbulent flow. I am using simpleFOAM with a RANS model, so this model will reach a steady state, with in the end the average velocity field in the flow.

There is also a solid attached at the bottom of the flow (just like in the example from CHT), however with a constant heat source at the bottom of the solid. The solid is solved in python using Nutils. After the average velocity field is obtained in the fluid, I want to use this as an input for another model, which solves the Temperature distribution in the fluid and solid together until it has also reached a steady state.

I want to use preCICE however I have a few questions about what is possible with it and how it works.

• One idea was to solve the velocity field in OpenFOAM and then export this to Nutils, and solving the temperature distribution in fluid and solid in Nutils. I saw one way coupling was possible in preCICE. I saw in the examples that data was transfered via an interface boundary. Is it also possible to export data from a whole mesh, to another mesh? so for example the velocity field in the fluid mesh of OpenFOAM to a velocity field in the nutils mesh of the fluid.
  • In the other case, the velocity field will be solved using OpenFOAM and then another model is used in OpenFOAM for the temperature distribution. Then nutils and openfoam run simultaneous in the temperature distribution calculation and distribute temperature data every iteration until it reaches steady state (It is not a time dependent problem, but i assume that is also possible?). I was however wondering how OpenFOAM is calling the preCICE adapter. I saw that a function was defined in the controlDict. See the figure below. However is there no other adjustment required for OpenFOAM in the solver or somewhere else?