Using preCICE to simulate a free-falling wedge over water in a multiphase simulation

Hello, everyone, I hope you are having a lovely day.

I am new to preCICE and have some experience in openFOAM. I am trying to simulate a simple case of a 2D falling wedge (similar to this) using FSI to couple openFOAM and calculix to also assess the deformation along the structure besides the wedge motion itself. In a first try using a box intead of a wedge, the following error appeared:

From void adapterInfo(std::__cxx11::string, std::__cxx11::string)
    in file Utilities.C at line 50
    Error (deferred - will exit later) in the preCICE adapter:

failed lookup of cellDisplacement (objectRegistry region0)
    available objects of type volVectorField:
2(Force U)

Then, looking up and trying to understand what is going on, I found out that the problem (so far) is in the dynamic mesh dict, where I was using the sixDoFRigidBodyMotionSolver. In this case, I was wondering if preCICE can be used for my case and, if it can, what can I do to run it? Is there an alternative for this solver where I can input mass and initial velocity and it can work in preCICE? I’ve seen topics related to the subject, but none of them could help a beginner like me.

Thank you, any assistance would be gladly appreciated.

Welcome, @matfuji,

I understand that you are trying to simulate a rigid body - fluid interaction, not a fluid-structure interaction. The sixDoFRigidBodyMotionSolver probably does not register a displacement field, leading to this error.
On the adapter level, if you want to use this mesh motion solver, you can try extending or modifying the adapter: Extend the OpenFOAM adapter | preCICE - The Coupling Library (the benefits of open-source!)

My main question here, however, is: what do you want to couple?