How do I create the .sur file for nearest-projection?

Hello,

I’m new to preCICE and CalculiX, so maybe this is a daft question:

I’m trying to set up a flexible tube like simulation starting from the 3d Tube tutorial. I have the simulation running with “nearest-neighbor” mapping, but obviously that is not ideal. I tried rbf, but that seems to be quite slow.

I’d like to use the nearest-projection mapping but am stuck at the problem of the surface file.

How do I create the .sur file? I understand the concept and that the .sur file contains volume elements (linear or quadratic tets) sorted by which of the elements 4 surfaces is lying in the surface.

But how do I create this surface? I use Salome for meshing, and CGX to create the msh and nam files. But “send interface abq sur” creates an empty file. I have tried a mesh with additional 2D surface elements, but CalculiX doesn’t like those (so I have to delete them in the all.msh) and also tried to create a group of volume elements that lie in the surface (>= 3 nodes in Ninterface), but that doesn’t seem to work, either.

I guess I’m missing something fairly basic here.

Hi,

what elements are you trying to create? I don´t use CGX so I am not sure what elements it supports. Does it fail for linear and quadratic elements?

Regarding RBF mapping, what RBF settings did you use? Thin-plate-splines (global) or Gaussian (local)? Global RBF`s are expensive even for small meshes.

A few ideas:

Maybe it already helps if you clarify the name of your set, is it Ninterface or interface you need as argument in the ‘send’ command? But I’m not sure about this…

If you call ‘prnt se’ in CGX, you can see whether the respective set contains faces. If not, maybe try to complete the (node-)set in CGX by calling ‘comp’ (with the respective arguments, see CGX-Manual) and then try to create the .sur-file again.

What do you mean, when you say CGX creates an Empty File? Is there a Header that says something like