Undefinable abort of FSI of a 3D case with Openfoam and Calculix

Hi everyone,

I am calculating a plate mounted over a propeller, as you can see in the picture. For simplification, the plate is fixed on the edges. I want to evaluate the pressure and resulting displacements caused by the propeller.

I am using Openfoam in parallel and CalculiX and testet both cases seperately, they work well.
When coupling with precice, Openfoam calculates the first timestep and aborts after that. I couldn’t find out, which participant is causing the abort.
I testet the mesh motion in Openfoam before and tested the coupling of Openfoam and CalculiX via precice with the FSI3 Benchmark, both work. Unfortunately, my case is more complex than FSI3, it is 3D, has a rotating AMI and a complex mesh. I included the log-files of both solvers and the precice-config file. Maybe someone has an idea of how I can improve my setup, I am not very experienced with precice.

log-fluid.out (237.9 KB)
log-solid.out (9.7 KB)
precice-config.xml (2.6 KB)
turek.inp (961 Bytes)

Regards,
Alina

Hi @Alina,

I would assume your simulation needs some OpenFOAM feature that the adapter does not support. I don’t have any experience with the rotating Arbitrary Mesh Interface feature. Maybe @JulianSchl has some idea of alternatives here, based on his work.

Do you also face the same problems with fewer parallel ranks? Did you also try with the latest version of the OpenFOAM adapter? (v1.1.0)

Hi @Alina,

Maybe you could explain how the motion is coupled to OpenFOAM in more detail.
Do you send the full rotation motion from CalculiX to preCICE or just the relative displacement of a static propeller?
Is the AMI rotation still performed directly by OpenFOAM or are you trying to couple the whole motion through preCICE?

1 Like

Hi Julian,