isCouplingOngoing error

Hello everyone,

I’m still a preCICE beginner and I cannot understand what could cause this error. The simulation starts regularly and goes on until the max-time value is reached. I even tried to input a bigger max-time value, but the error still shows up.

ERROR: advance() cannot be called when isCouplingOngoing() returns false

I’m using a mbdyn adapter written in python (not the one on github) and I’m trying a dummy test case, so mbdyn is the only solver involved.

I hypothesized that the simulation cannot reach the finalize step, but I cannot understand why.

Does anyone of you ever encountered a similar error?

Thank you,

Alice

It basically means that you call preCICE to advance the coupling even though your simulation has reached the max-time value. Either your simulation is running further then it should, there is some configuration issue or your dummy does something wrong.

When you check the adapter exampled here Step 6 – Implicit coupling | preCICE - The Coupling Library, you see that it looks something like (note that the example is C++, but it would look similar in Python)

[...]
while (precice.isCouplingOngoing()){
  [...]
  precice_dt = precice.advance(dt);
  [...]
}

So advance can only be called when isCouplingOngoing() is true. I would assume that you have the advance call not inside a loop that checks isCouplingOngoing() all the time.

Could you show us your dummy and your configuration files to see what is wrong?

2 Likes

Hi @ajaust

I suspected something like what you’ve just said, but I couldn’t find the error in the code.
I’m attaching the adapter I’m using (it’s a .txt because it wouldn’t let me upload a .py file)
mbdynAdapter.txt (9.6 KB)
mbdynInterface.txt (7.9 KB)

Here is also the config:
precice-config.xml (2.4 KB)

I see two time-related problems here.

The first one is what you report here. Let’s look at the code:

is_ongoing = self.interface.is_coupling_ongoing()
      dt_precice = self.interface.advance(dt)