Installing preCICE on Mac (problem with Eigen library)

Hello All,

I am Mark, I am doing my masters degree in Computer Science at Uni Stuttgart.
I recently started getting familiar with preCICE for one of my study courses, however I am facing a problem in building the source code.

I am using a Macbook with M1 Pro Chip, and ma

cOS 13.0.1 (Ventura)

I used homebrew to install the dependencies, but during the cmake process, I find Eigen but it fails in validating it.

I noticed when I try the validating script on it’s own it has a problem with finding the Eigen library, it only works when I explicitly include it as
“”” G++ -I /Users/markashraf/Downloads/eigen-3.4.0 HelloWorld.cpp “””

(It’s only here in the downloads folder as part of testing this approach)

I will be very grateful if someone knows anything about this problem, and can help me solve it.

Best Regards,
Mark

When you first run cmake to configure preCICE, there should be a section in the output that mentions which version of Eigen was found and where it is located. Can you have a look at that?

[...]
-- === DEPENDENCIES ===
[...]
-- Found Boost 1.80.0
-- Found Eigen3: /usr/include/eigen3 (Required is at least version "3.2")
-- Found Eigen 3.4.0
-- Validating Eigen
-- Validating Eigen - success
[...]

The path shown after Found Eigen3: must contain a directory Eigen, which must contain the file Core.

You can get more useful information about what CMake is doing by calling it like this during the initial configuration: cmake --debug-find-pkg=Eigen3 ...

It finds it successfully and the path has the directory Eigen which contains the file Core

When I ran the error with the debug option, I didn’t get anything extra regarding the error.

I just checked on a Mac (M1, MacOS Ventura 13.0.1) and for me the build process for preCICE 2.5.0 and I could not reproduce the error (yet).

I used the following build command