Extract stress data

Hello Experts,
Is there any any way to get stress tensor, velocity on the flap wrt to displacement for perpendicular flap or turek-hron fsi3 tutorial ?

Hi,

I am not sure if it exactly what you are looking for, but maybe the VTK export feature would help you. It was also mentioned in a recent thread.

Thanks @ajaust, your reply was helpful. Just a quick doubt can you tell me what are these files that are created in different timesteps?

Eg: take a look at timestep 0.02

I think these are output directories of OpenFOAM. Maybe you could check the OpenFOAM documentation to find more information about that. Maybe also someone else can comment on that because I am not an expert in OpenFOAM.

Just for better understanding. Do you want to extract the information about stress, velocity etc. extract from the coupling surface or from the whole fluid domain?

Thanks for your reply. However that is not what I need. I need the code to write different quantities than what it is doing now.
Right now the output of solid-dealli code writes only dispalcemnt and strain tensor in the vtk files for every time step. But I want the code to write displacement vector, velocity vector and stress tensor. How should I do?
The write command in the code is at:
line 1214 of nonlinear_elasticity.cc
data_out.add_data_vector(total_displacement, postprocessor);
I think that I need to change this line. Howvever I am not getting how to change this line.
Also I searched some variables representing stress, I found 3 different types

1. external_stress
  2. referential_stress
  3. local_stress
    which one should I write. I need the stress to calculate the force vector and velocity, in order to calculate the kinetic energy of the flap.

Hi @daniel,

as @ajaust pointed out, the files created on your system are results files created by OpenFOAM for individual time steps. In principle, you can configure the output tick in the system/controlDict file for OpenFOAM.