Transitioning to preCICE for coupling OpenFOAM and a lagrangian python structural code

Hello,
I’m considering using preCICE for a coupled FSI problem. I have a solid model of few degrees of freedom, which given the forces, yields the shape of the structure after energy minimization. I’ve written a small python code that includes the solid model, and then calls the fluid solver.

For the fluid part, I use OpenFOAM v8. The approach right now is quasi-static, i.e. I have OpenFOAM solve a stationary problem of external flow, then the python code extracts the force information with boundary probes, and calculates the new solid solution minimizing energy. After this, a new OpenFOAM case is set up automatically with the new shape and boundary conditions, and so on with as many steps as needed.

I did it this way since the problem is not too dynamic (similar to a cantilevered plate), and it was quick.

Using preCICE would be a big step forward in the complexity of the coupling, and for what I’ve read it seems to be suited for what I need to simulate. However, I was wondering:

-since my solid model is Lagrangian, I would need the stresses field at some specific points, which I know to correspond to given points in the undeformed configuration of the solid. Can preCICE give the stress field at specific points (similar to OF boundary probes)?
-can preCICE be used incrementally, so starting just by using it to extract forces for example, and then adding more and more features?

I ask these because I would like to reuse as much of my python code as possible, and avoid rewriting from scratch, which is always bug prone.

Thanks in advance!

Welcome, @gcorsi!

Your case sounds to me very similar to the one mentioned in this talk: https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=3FP8y1Zjqns

Maybe shorter video: https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=fDuXA46mYk8

(edit: after reading your description again, it sounds to me like you are addresing a very classical ALE simulation. So, definitely possible!)