The perpendicular-flap model using OpenFoam

I am a newbie to OpenFoam. I am posting here to check if there is any naive issue for the following problem:

1. We are developing a coupling functionality using Precice. We want to run some benchmark models, for example the perpendicular-flap model. Our solver handles the solid and OpenFoam handles the fluid. Precice handles the coupling between them.
    https://github.com/precice/tutorials/tree/master/perpendicular-flap

1. OurSolver-Precice-OpenFoam is running. But from the very beginning, OpenFoam sends the following force (arrows in the following figure) to our solver. Especially, the green arrow and the red arrow on the top of flap are pointing towards the upstream. They caused weird deformation of the flap.
    Intuitively, they should point to the downstream.
    I wonder roughly speaking, if you have any suggestion on this issue?
    My understanding of the the perpendicular-flap model is that the OpenFoam solver should be pimpleFoam:

1. Internally, we have a dummyfluid model, OurSolver-Precice-dummyFluid. The dummyfluid only sends back a constant force on the front surface as below. This models works good.

Thank you
Hongwu

I guess that you may use different reference systems (x,y,z).
Try exporting the preCICE meshes and visualizing them in ParaView, maybe you find out that they are geometrically not fitting:

Hi, Makis,
Thanks a lot. it is a good point. I attached the exported mesh files here. It appears the openFoam mesh/nodes is/are very coarse. There are only 33 nodes in openFoam VS the 494 solid nodes. And the openFoam nodes are located only in the middle of the flap/fluid-channel. I am still learning how to use ParaView. I wonder if there is any obvious mistake.

Thanks again
Hongwu

exportPreciceMesh.zip (2.8 KB)

The orientations seem to be fine, but all data values are zero. Is this over all timesteps? Do you actually write data to preCICE?

Hi, Makis,