Force mapping with OpenFOAM adapter

Hi,
I have a problem regarding the mapping of forces when coupling with OpenFOAM. I don’t get how it works. I was thinking that on the structure side I should receive nodal forces. I am not a CalculiX expert and I am not able to read what it uses as loads. I Built a different adapter and used it with the vertical flap tutorial. My adapter uses nodal forces. Displacements are consistent within the solid and the fluid mesh, while with my configurations the forces are not. I made an experiment writing a dummy solid adapter which imposes the movement of the mesh and reads the nodal forces. The case is like this:

If I keep the structure still, OpenFOAM shows these nodal forces:

While this is what I read on the structure side:

which are of course wrong. Nevertheless the mapping is right on the displacement side: if I impose a mesh movement the displacement of the two meshes are coherent. Is that I read cell forces? Or is it that the config file is wrong?
precice-config.xml (3.6 KB)
Any help is much appreciated
Claudio

Hi Caudio,

some aspects on forces calculation in OpenFOAM, which might help:

• forces are calculated for each cell face, since OF uses finite volume methods, so you get one value, which corresponds to one face
  • this leads to the fact, that in case of 2d the out-of-plain direction i.e. the mesh ‘thickness’ matters. If your mesh is e.g. 0.1 thick, your forces are scaled by 0.1 as well
  • forces should be mapped conservative and therefore make sure you treat them in a conservative way in your structure solver

I am not sure what you mean by ‘nodal forces’. Forces are calculated from e.g. pressure, which always refers to some reference area, but this should not bother you on the structural solver side.

1 Like

Hi David,